Saturday’s Book: LISTENING to Dickens

The emphasis is on “listening” as opposed to “reading”.

“Listening” as in an audio-book of “Great Expectations” by Charles Dickens.

I find that listening to Dickens has distinct advantages. The reader is excellent and I enjoy hearing the dialogues in the book with all the appropriate accents. I had no idea that so many words that began with the sound /v/ were once pronounced with a “w”!

On the other hand, this is not television. I can focus on Dickens’ rich language creating the scenes to be imagined in my mind. With tlelvision creating the scenes I would be focusing only on the storyline itself which is only part of what Dickens is about.

I find listening to be a great way to revisit a classic tale!

4 thoughts on “Saturday’s Book: LISTENING to Dickens”

  1. Audio- books are wonderful, especially as they don’t replace reading printed books, They are good for different times of the day, in different situations.
    And Dickens is certainly an example where the audio is giving me something extra!
    Enjoy!

    1. It’s surprising how many people think something is wrong with me (“Is my eyesight failing?” they inquire) because I enjoy listening to books as much as I enjoy reading them!
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Naomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *