The Puffin at the ETAI 2012 Pecha Kucha

The instructions were 20 slides, 20 seconds for each slide. Short and preferably amusing.

DSCF3933

I adapted an old post of mine, “How to Steal Like a Teacher” (which was adapted from Austen Kleon’s post “How to Steal Like An Artist”. He has since turned the post into a book) and turned it into 20 slides. I thought that because I was using something that I had prepared it wouldn’t be a lot of work but it WAS and I was quite nervous.

I’ve presented in front of a large audience before but not that large and not so fast! There was no time to pause and see if everyone got the point or found a picture I chose amusing. I usually give talks without holding papers but here it seemed important to say the concise sentences I had prepared so I had index cards. I didn’t always look at them though.

 

Leo Selivan from the British Council was the host. He categorized the six presentations in this manner:

DSCF3948

 

DSCF3926

 

I defined mine as inspirational. There were quite a few “blame it on the host” ones! Most of the presentations were very funny. I settled for “inspirational”!

Leo showed a preview slide for each presentation. Here’s mine:

So, here is the slide show of my presentation. Its just the visuals, of course, but I hope you can enjoy it anyway!

How to STEAL Like a Teacher

5 thoughts on “The Puffin at the ETAI 2012 Pecha Kucha”

  1. Hi Naomi!

    Broken record I will be again ; ) I wish I had been there to see you – but I love your enthusiasm and smile in the pictures! Nice to see Leo too!

    I would categorise any presentation you made as inspirational, along with every blog post!

    Let’s hope I can be there next year : )))

    You rock,
    Vicky

  2. Vicky!
    I’m looking forward to you coming and will borrow a real video camera, not my little camera that only does 11 minutes!
    And of course every visitor gets a home cooked dinner at my house!!!!
    So much to look forward to!
    Naomi

  3. That will be great! Thank you so much for the invitation : )) I will have to start planning already, I think! When is it next year? Is the date known yet?

    Hugs,
    Vicky

  4. Index cards indeed come in handy when you want to make concise sentences – I am glad you enjoyed the experience!

    Vicky, if you want to come I think you should try and do it in 2014 when there’s going to be – hopefully – an international conference.

    L

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *