Saturday’s Book: “The Railway Children” by E. Nesbit

Someone mentioned this children’s book to me a few days ago and I was immeditaly flooded with a memory of pleasure. I remember very little of the plot of the book but have a distinct memory of LOVING it and reading it more than once.

I spent time today reading about the author. I had no idea the book was first published in 1906! That explains why she called herself E. Nesbit and not Edith. I also was unaware that she had written such a large number of books including books for adults. I’m positive that I also read “Five Children and It” as a child but the other names don’t ring a bell anymore.

By the way, turns out the book is a Puffin Classic! LOL!

I wonder: are children today still reading it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *