Saturday’s Book: The Book that made me DIZZY!

It’s not it, it’s me.

I didn’t want to write the title of the book in the subject line, as the problem really may be mine and not the book’s. I don’t feel I gave the book a fair chance.

It’s just that the book is about 8 people who are sharing a holiday house for two weeks. I love books that move the plot forward by presenting things from the perspectives of different characters.

But this is ridiculous.

EVERY SINGLE PARAGRAPH (after the first few pages) is from someone else’s point of view! There are eight different characters (of different ages, kids and adults) and by the time I adjust my thinking to the character currently telling the story its off to someone else.

After 40 pages of “The Red House” by Mark Haddon I decided I would try it again, someday, on a relaxing vacation. I did enjoy Haddon’s first book a great deal, I don’t want to write the book off.

4 thoughts on “Saturday’s Book: The Book that made me DIZZY!”

  1. Do you have a Kindle? If you do, there is a thing on it called “Xray” and in SOME books, if you canot remember who a character is, it pulls up all of the excerpts where the character was mentioned and can help ‘place” the character. I am not sure why some books have it, and others don’t, but it has helped me keep track of characters in books a few times

    Just a thought 🙂
    Shavua tov!
    Adele

    1. Adele!
      Thanks for the info about what a Kindle can do. Don’t have one yet. But my problem wasn’t remembering who the characters were. It takes me time to “get into the characters shoes” and when the point of view changes every paragraph I can’t keep up!

  2. Naomi, I read (kind of) this book a while ago but I don’t remember ANYTHING, just one big blur. I decided I was not smart enough for reading Haddon’s books…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *