Saturday’s Book: Three Generations with “I Claudius” by Graves

Naomi's photos
Naomi’s photos

Three generations. If that’s not a sign of a classic, I don’t know what is. And the book was published in 1934!

My mother talked about the book incessantly when I was growing up, citing it as one of her favorite. She was born the year the book came out.

As a teenager I decided to give it a go and loved it too. I later loved the BBC adaptation as well. I actually watched  the complete series twice – once with my parents in the late 70’s and then later with my husband when it was broadcasted again in the 1990’s.

And now both of our young-adult sons have read the book and enjoyed it as much as the previous generations!

I find that moving.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *