Close Encounters of the “You are STILL teaching?!” Kind

At the supermarket this afternoon, while trying to choose the nicest carton of strawberries, I discovered that I was standing next to someone I hadn’t seen in a very long time.

She was a teacher at the high-school when I arrived, 22 years ago ( I taught elementary school before) and we were both there for about five years. Then she left the school and teaching.

Turns out that after several years of doing other things she went back to Education, is completing her P.H.D and has become involved in counseling programs involving computers.

I tell you this with the utmost respect – it’s great what she’s doing.

But then, each one of us standing over the supermarket cart, comes the inevitable comment – so you are still doing the same thing, huh?  I proudly smiled and said “Sure am!”

I don’t feel I’m doing the same thing at all!  I turned the classroom into a learning center, I’ve been experimenting with “reverse reading” and “teaching unplugged” and finding ways to use the Computer-Without-Internet in the class and more!

Since I began blogging, I’m not bothered by the fact that there are very few people I can share this information with. I just say that I’m happy to still be at the school. Here I have an outlet to share my feelings that every school year is a new year, never been a year like the previous one!

4 thoughts on “Close Encounters of the “You are STILL teaching?!” Kind”

  1. Hi Naomi,
    I so know where you’re coming from, although for me it’s more kind of glossing over what I do ‘cos no-one really knows, understands and so can’t really care even if they wanted to! :). It’s definitely not their fault – and only partly mine – it takes so long to explain sometimes!
    Which is why twitter and blogs are so good, so useful, such a great channel for communication with people who do know, who do care, who do want to listen – and if they’re eyes are glazing over, at least I can’t see them 😉
    Thank you Naomi for being one of the people who’s out there learning and sharing and talking. It makes everything so much more interesting 🙂
    Keep up the conversation!
    Ceri

    1. People like you help me keep up my passion for teaching and learning new things! So glad we’ve “met”!

  2. Hi Naomi,
    I’ve only been doing it for three years, and I hope I’m STILL teaching many many years from now! I’m glad to be able to share your passion for teaching through your blog – keep up the good work!
    Sandy

  3. Sandy!
    The way you seem bubbling with ideas and energy – I’m sure you will! I’m still working on learnign to use ideas from your previous post and now I see there’s another one out! Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *