Saturday’s Book: “The World According to Garp” by John Irving

All week I’ve encountered references to John Irving’s new book and it reminded me of the “The World According to Garp”.

This is one of the rare examples of seeing the movie first (I adore Robin Williams!) yet still really enjoying the book afterwards. All this was many years ago but that’s a tale that certainly made a mark in my memory!

I also read the Hotel New Hampshire which was the author’s next book. I think pretty much the only things I remembered about the book was the phrase ” keep passing the open windows” (again, we’re talking many years ago!) . However, I just caught the movie on cable TV one holiday quite recently and I remembered a lot once I began watching. Certainly worth reading.

It isn’t as powerful a story, or as memorable one as Garp. I think the actor Robin Williams must have also been influenced by this tale because the theme of someone trying to do good, to be good to children despite difficulties, runs through a lot of his movies.

Always nice to remember a good book, even better when both the book and the movie were good!

2 thoughts on “Saturday’s Book: “The World According to Garp” by John Irving”

  1. Hi Naomi!

    I have not heard of this book, or seen the movie – I think this is another book to add to my list! Once I read it, I will also watch the movie. Like you, I usually like reading the book first : )

    Thank you so much for your recommendation once again!

    (By the way, I am reading two books this period, The Naive and the Sentimental Novelist by Orhan Pamuk – love it so far! And another book I wouldn’t usually pick, as it is not the kind I would normally prefer – Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely, which a student recommended. It is pretty good, I must say!)

    Vicky xx

    1. Vicky!
      I’ve only read book by Orhan Pamuk so far – “Snow”, which I enjoyed.
      I’ve seen Dan Ariely’s TED talk but hadn’t thought to look for the book. I’ll check the library – thanks!
      Naomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *