Saturday’s Book: “The Bluest Eye” by Toni Morrison

I was totally blown away by this book.

There was no “Saturday’s Book Post” last week because I was in the middle of the book. It seemed as if I would be breaking a spell to write about it in the middle and I certainly couldn’t think of anything but that book until I finished it. I was mesmerised.

It is difficult for me to comprehend the information added on at the end of the book, about years passing before the book was recognized. The unique writing style is evident from the first pages! Why didn’t publishers swoon at her feet when they read this first book of hers?

I had been afraid of reading Morrison for years, afraid of her “depressing” subject matters. And she does make it clear at the onset that no hapy end is to be found in THIS book. But I found myself desperate to know “how and why” and to sink into the magic of the way she handles words. I’m ready to tackle each and every one of her books, just two weeks after being afraid them. A special thanks for my online book loving friends for reccomending this title. I needed that push to take the plunge.

I’m so glad I did.

2 thoughts on “Saturday’s Book: “The Bluest Eye” by Toni Morrison”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *