Belated Saturday’s Book Post – Books & Parties!

I know I’ve invited the right people to a party when I get to discuss books without even bringing up the subject!

First of all I got a warm recommendation for the book “The Brothers Lionheart” by Astrid Lindgren. Will look for it!

One by one guests perused our book shelves and it seemed as if everyone chose to comment on the same book: “Deaf Sentence” by David Lodge. I was a bit surprised. I read it quite a few years ago, being, naturally, attracted by the clever title. It’s about a college professor who deals with losing his hearing (age related, no tragic illness tales). Parts of it are intended to be amusing.

Many of us seemed to be in agreement that while some parts of the book were an absolute pleasure to read, a few parts were completely superfluous. Still, I DO recommend the book.

What I didn’t get a clear picture about from the guests (I guess there was no consensus) was whether or not I should read other books by David Lodge. Thoughts, anyone?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *