SATURDAY’S MYSTERY: WHO WERE YOU, DORA? CROWDSOURCING Q. 9

The passport photo of Beileh, one of Dora's half sisters who immigrated in 1927. Do you think they had the same eyes?
The passport photo of Beileh, one of Dora’s half sisters who immigrated in 1927. Do you think they had the same eyes?
Dora 1935 - Do you see a resemblance to half sister Beileh?
Dora 1935 – Do you see a resemblance to half sister Beileh?

Note: This is part eleven of a new Saturday series, in which I, with crowdsourcing help, try to unravel the mysteries hidden in previously unknown letters written by my mysterious step-great aunt Dvora /Dora before and during WWll in Poland. For further explanations see previous post

This is the next to last letter. It is undated but the next letter mentions the fact that a year has passed since they last heard from Libby. That letter is dated August 1940.

“Dear Libby!

Thanks you very much for your letter and pictures. I wished to write you now a big letter but alas I am very occupied with work in the house, because we have not today a servant, and beside this I have some ????? ( see below) because I must earn a little money. Much time I have not, to this I have also other unpleasant thinks so that I have not sufferance to write more. Perhaps I shall write you for myself a letter, when I shall have more time.

Thanks you for a dictionary”.

earn money unclear word

 

 

2 thoughts on “SATURDAY’S MYSTERY: WHO WERE YOU, DORA? CROWDSOURCING Q. 9”

  1. Hi Naomi,
    The only word I can think of is ‘competitions’, but I don’t see how that would help with earning money. Has Dora mentioned earning money anywhere else?
    Sandy

    1. Sandy,
      I can’t see any sense in competetions either. Do you think she could be doing correspondence for someone, as in secretarial work?
      She hasn’t mentioned earning money till now.
      Thanks a million!
      Naomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *