Saturday’s Book: “The Last Painting of Sara De Vos” by Smith

One could imagine such a scene as a landscape painting…
Naomi’s Photos

It sounded like a book I would enjoy.

A tale of a little known female painter who was a member of the Dutch painter’s guild as a work of fiction, with the author filling in the gaps in plausible manner given the period and place.  Such books can often illuminate a period in history and distant societies, enriching my world.

The lighting in the painting may have been wonderful but the book did not hold my interest. I read a bit more than a third of it before giving up on it. The parts about the super rich man (with detailed description of the wonders of his apartment) who is, (naturally) unhappy (cursed by the painting?) and the poor lonely art student drawn into forgery bored me and ruined the rest.

The book got excellent reviews but doesn’t work for me.

One thought on “Saturday’s Book: “The Last Painting of Sara De Vos” by Smith”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *