Saturday’s Book: “Room” by Emma Donaghue

THIS time I DID read a book in less than a week.

I couldn’t put it down. When I did, I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

I never would have checked the book out of the library (I’ve seen it there many times) if it hadn’t been from a strong recommendation from my friend Zmira. I don’t enjoy reading books that sound as if they are going to be gruesome stories of cruelty. I knew the book was about a young woman and her five year old son who were forced to live in one room.

But its not like that all, in fact nothing like I expected.

The writing is first rate. The whole story is told by the point of view of a five-year-old discovering life and it is fascinating. It is also about the power of words to create reality and how we use words to make sense of it. It is about coping and love.

I’ve paused to read some reviews by others ( I don’t read reviews till I have finished a book! They tend to have spoilers) and I’m pleased to see that Roberto Benigni’s “Life is beautiful” mentioned. There were points when reading when I thought of that too but this book is really quite unique.

I don’t want to have any spoilers in this post so I am stopping here. I”ll settle for:

READ!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *